WASHINGTON, D.C.—Today, House Republican Whip Steve Scalise (R-La.) and HEAT leaders Rep. Jodey Arrington (R-Texas), Rep. Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.) and Rep. Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.) led a joint letter to President Trump signed by 41 members in support of policy strategies that would provide America’s energy producers and workers with much-needed relief during this time of economic uncertainty.

“Oil and gas producers, and the jobs they support, face unique threats that extend beyond the global pandemic,” the letter reads.Prior to the decline in demand due to the spread of the virus, Russia and Saudi Arabia began simultaneously flooding the market with cheap oil, forcing American oil and gas companies to shrink production and slash spending just to stay afloat. If this market does not stabilize soon, we risk rolling back the success of the U.S. energy industry over the past decade, which will have a disastrous effect on America’s economy and jeopardize our energy security. With that in mind, please consider the following policy strategies that would provide America’s energy producers and workers with much-needed relief.”

The letter is an effort to encourage and support the Trump Administration to consider all possible options to weather this storm and maintain America’s leadership in energy production and to protect our nation’s energy security for the long term.

Read the full letter here.

The letter was signed by Rep. Jodey Arrington (R-Texas), House Republican Whip and HEAT Co-Chair Steve Scalise (R-La.), Heat Co-Chairs Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.) and Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.), and Reps. Clay Higgins (R-La.), Tom Cole (R-Okla.), Scott Perry (R-Pa.), French Hill (R-Ark.), David Rouzer (R-N.C.), Roger Marshall, M.D. (R-Kan.), Kelly Armstrong (R-N.D.), W. Gregory Steube (R-Fla.), Dan Newhouse (R-Wash.), David B. McKinley, P.E. (W. Va.), Troy Balderson (R-Ohio), Ron Wright (R-Texas), Don Young (R-Alaska), Robert E. Latta (R-Ohio), Alex X. Mooney (R-W. Va.), Ron Estes (R-Kan.), Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (R-Texas), Larry Bucshon, M.D. (R-Ind.), Will Hurd (R-Texas), Brian Babin, D.D.S. (R-Texas), Dan Crenshaw (R-Texas), Guy Reschenthaler (R-Pa.), Paul A. Gosar, D.D.S. (R-Ariz.), Phil Roe, M.D. (R-Tenn.), Chip Roy (R-Texas), Lance Gooden (R-Texas), Bruce Westerman (R-Ark.), Bill Flores (R-Texas), Garret Graves (R-La.), Louie Gohmert (R-Texas), Greg Pence (R-Ind.), Russ Fulcher (R-Idaho), Debbie Lesko (R-Ariz), Bill Johnson (R-Ohio), Frank Lucas (R-Okla.), Randy Weber (R-Texas), Carol D. Miller (R-W. Va.), and Richard Hudson (R-N.C.).